

Department of Texas Veterans of Foreign Wars

July 2023

GENERAL ORDERS

July 1, 2023

No. 12 2022 – 2023 Series

1. 2023 VFW National Convention: The 2023 VFW National Convention will be held July 22-27-2023, in Phoenix, Arizona. Go to the link below for more details. https://www.vfw.org/media-and-events/124th-vfw-national-convention

2. Duly Elected and Installed Officers for 2023-2024:

- State Commander Larry Sanders
- State Senior Vice Commander Robert Martinez, Jr.
- State Junior Vice Commander Dave Walden
- State Quartermaster Ben Lowrance
- State Judge Advocate Larry Velasquez, Jr.
- State Surgeon Gerard "Jerry" Greene
- State Chaplain Michael "Foy" Day
- National Council Member Inge Conley

3. Appointed Officers for 2023-2024:

- State Adjutant Jorg Kitchen
- State Chief of Staff Reggie Williams
- State Inspector Earl Conley
- Immediate Past State Commander Lynn Toomer
- State Assistant Quartermaster Wayne Cooley
- Deputy State Inspector Nate Lopez, Jr.
- Deputy State Inspector Anson Booker
- Deputy State Inspector Roger L. DeWeese
- Deputy State Inspector Marty Monceballez
- Deputy State Inspector James E. Briggs
- Deputy State Inspector Joe Ramon
- Officer of the Day Lonnie Garza
- Service Officer / Houston Mike Eshenbaugh
- Service Officer / Waco Katina Cryer

4. District Commanders for 2023-2024:

- District 1 Robert Rouse
- District 2 William "Chuck" Hill
- District 3 George J. Warringer
- District 4 Edwin "Buddy" Grantham
- District 5 J'Layne M. Vines
- District 6 George Varra
- District 8 Cedrick B. Shells
- District 9 Billie B. "Bart" Guthrie
- District 10 Robin A. Johnson
- District 12 Larry Levy
- District 13 Diana Cruz Montoya
- District 14 Gary Land
- District 16 Duane C. Masteller
- District 17 Marcey J. Phillips
- District 18 Narciso "Trey" Villela
- District 19 Steve R. Lee
- District 20 Nathan Zuniga
- District 21 Joseph W. Campbell
- District 24 Edwin "Laval" Simons
- District 25 Melvin "Mel" Parker
- District 28 Mitch Fuller
- District 29 Christopher "Chris" B. Davis
- District 30 Barbara A. Ampong

5. Appointed Committee Chairs for 2023-2024:

- 104th State Convention Chair Shenna R. Lawless
- BBQ Chair Todd Richardson
- Buddy Poppy Chair Hector G. Ruelas
- Budget & Finance Chair John G. Koller
- Community Service Chair John Jowers
- Credentials Chair John Rodriguez
- Credentials Chair Assistant Olivia D. Rux
- Homecoming Chair Chris Clouser
- Homeless Veterans Chair Joel H. Pipes
- Membership & Marketing Chair Frank Torres
- Hospital / MAP Chair Gerard "Jerry" Greene
- Motorcycle Group Chair Thomas Anderson
- National/State Legislative Chair Mitch Fuller
- POW/MIA Chair John F. "Jack" Mageluzzo

- Scouting Chair Cecil F. McConnell
- Suicide Prevention Chair Tracey L. Brown Greene
- Training Team Chair Gregory P. "Greg" Brannan
- Transition Team Chair Ted Johnson
- Veterans Employment Chair Bob Gear
- VOD/Patriot's Pen/Teacher Chair Frank Andrada

6. District Meetings/Trainings for July 2023:

- District 1 July 16th Post 10460-Lake Dallas
- District 19 July 29th Post 6899-Trinity
- District 24 July 29th Post 3972-Cuero
- District 25 July 22nd Post 7208-Midland

7. Congratulations to State Award Winners at the 2023 State Convention:

- <u>Tiger Lyons POW/MIA Post Level Award</u> Golden-Meadows VFW Post 1475, Amarillo, District 9
- <u>Danny Henry Award Outstanding Post Commander</u> Willie Keller-VFW Post 12209-Fort Hood-District 14
- <u>Glen M. Gardner, Jr. Outstanding Quartermaster Award</u> Lennie Page-VFW Post 8785-Mesquite-District 3
- William B. Moody Outstanding Chaplain Award Michael Foy Day-VFW Post 4692-Bryan-District 17
- <u>Outstanding Service Officer Award</u> Michael Mills-VFW Post 4676-Universal City-District 20
- <u>Barbara Hoffman Award-Outstanding Auxiliary Member Award</u> Teresa Ramon-VFW Post 2059-Kirby-District 20
- <u>Post Volunteer Award</u> Robert Ramirez-VFW Post 7841-Robstown-District 6
- <u>Top Recruiter Award</u> Joe Young-VFW Post 7108-San Antonio-District 20

<u>Mack Johnson Award Recipients</u>

Reggie Williams-District 3 Joel Pipes-District 19 Barbara Ampong-District 30

• J. T. Rutherford Recipients

Anson Booker-VFW Post 3892-Harker Heights-District 14 Lynn Toomer-VFW Post 10429-Benbrook-District 21 Reggie Williams-VFW Post 1406-Dallas-District 3

8. <u>Special Recognition Awards for Outstanding Support of the Texas VFW</u> <u>Foundation</u>:

- Robert R. Tuck VFW Post 912-Baytown-District 4
- Thompson-Patton-Zahn VFW Post 8905 Auxiliary-Cypress-District 4
- Melanie McConaghy (Individual-Corporate Donor)

9. Buddy Poppy Display Winners at the State Convention:

Category I: Public Promotion of Poppy Campaign 1st Place-VFW Post 8551-Sweeny-District 16

Category II: Memorial or Inspirational Display 1st Place-VFW Post 5074-Roanoke-District 1

Category III: Artistic or Decorative Use of Poppies 1st Place-VFW Post 5074-Roanoke-District 1

10. <u>Outstanding Community Service Awards presented at the State Convention</u>:

1st Place-VFW Post 6380, Jasper, District 2 2nd Place-VFW Post 1514, Village Mills, District 2 3rd Place-VFW Post 8136, Port Neches, District 2

11. VFW National-Public Servant Awards:

Law Enforcement: Michael A. Lee, Post 1406, Dallas, District3 Fire Fighter: MSgt., USAF, Jonathan W. Leopold, Post 6873, Abilene, District 8 Emergency Medical Technician: Latham Roden, Post 6873, Abilene, District 8

12. Scout of the Year for 2022-2023

Ricardo N. Lazaro, Lone Scout, San Antonio Sponsored by Post 2059, Kirby, District 20

13. Candidates for Department Office 2023-2024:

State Commander, Robert Martinez, Jr., Post 2059, Kirby, D-20 State Senior Vice Commander, Dave Walden, Post 10427, Leander, D-28 State Junior Vice Commander, Benny Guerrero, Jr., Post 2466, Lubbock, D-9 State Junior Vice Commander, Eddie Terry, Post 10429, Benbrook, D-21 State Quartermaster, Ben Lowrance, Post 1475, Amarillo, D-9 State Chaplain, Michael "Foy" Day, Post 4692, Bryan, D-17 State Judge Advocate Steve Evans, Post 2466, Lubbock, D-9 State Surgeon, Gerard P. "Jerry" Greene, Post 6796, Dallas, D-3

- 14.<u>Texas VFW Standard Operating (SOP) Procedures for 2022-2023</u>: The SOP is available on the new Department of Texas VFW website and will be maintained and edited throughout the year. Click on the link below to view: <u>https://txvfw.org/administration/</u>
- **15.**<u>Closing Comments:</u> I am proud to have been elected as the State Commander of Texas for 2023-2024. Please continue our mission to assist, to foster camaraderie among United States veterans of overseas conflicts. We were not elected to rule, we were elected to serve. I thank each VFW member for their support as we strive to make the Department of Texas VFW the best in the nation!!

By order of:

Larry Sanders, State Commander

Attested By:

g Kitchen

Jorg Kitchen, State Adjutant

