

Department of Texas Veterans of Foreign Wars

February 2024 GENERAL ORDERS & TALKING POINTS No. 7 2023 – 2024 Series

No. 7 2023 – 2024 Series February 1, 2024

1. District Meetings for February 2024:

uary 3 ^{rd.} -4 th Post 8273-Frisco
uary 3 ^{rd.} Post 3278-Brownwood
uary 3 ^{rd.} Post 2466-Lubbock
uary 3 ^{rd.} Post 3903-Rosenberg
uary 3 ^{rd.} Post 4816-Porter
uary 3 ^{rd.} Post 4149-Midland
uary 4 th Post 3377-Manchaca
uary 10 th Post 4820-Port Neches
uary 10 th Post 2397-Corpus Christi
uary 17 th Post 8456-Geronimo
uary 17 th Post 8560-Sulphur Springs
uary 18 th Post 3966-Devine
uary 18 th Post 6872-Crowley
uary 24 th Post 8782-El Paso
uary 25th Post 2494-Irving
uary 17 th Post 4146-Victoria

1. <u>Deadline Dates for Veteran Participation Reports (VPR's) to be submitted to the Department of Texas VFW Headquarters:</u>

- February 23, 2024-Deadline to receive VPR for Vietnam Peace Accord
- March 15, 2024-Deadline to receive VPR for USS Maine
- March 29, 2024-Deadline to receive VPR for Operation Desert Storm

2. <u>Congratulations to our Patriot's Pen winners for 2023-2024:</u> 1st Place Patriot's Pen winner:

Anisha N. Hiremath of Round Rock, Texas is a 7th grader who attends Cedar Valley Middle School in Round Rock, Texas. She was sponsored by VFW Post 12104 in Bastrop, Texas District 28. Anisha will receive a cash award sponsored by VFW post 12104 in Bastrop, Texas during our 2024 Mid-Winter Conference Award Banquet in Corpus Christi.

2nd Place Patriot's Pen winner:

Kayla Marie Shaw of Burnet, Texas.

Kayla will receive a cash award-sponsored by VFW Post 10376-Marble Falls Scholarship. Kayla was sponsored by 10376-Marble Falls, and District 14.

3rd Place Patriot's Pen winner:

Joseph A. Tobin of Denton, Texas.

Joseph will receive a cash award-sponsored by VFW Post 9168-Lewisville Scholarship. Tobin was sponsored by Post 9168, Lewisville, and District 1.

3. Congratulations to our Teacher of the Year winners for 2023-2024:

<u>Grades K-5 winner:</u> Chandra Chapman teaches at Vista Del Sol Environmental Science Academy School in El Paso, Texas. She was sponsored by VFW Post 8919 in El Paso, Texas, and District 10.

<u>Grades 6-8 winner:</u> Adam Johnson teaches at Mattei Middle School in Sherman, Texas. He was sponsored by VFW Post 9167 in Princeton, Texas, and District 1.

<u>Grades 9-12 winner:</u> Mark C. Knight teaches at Ball High School in Galveston, Texas. He was sponsored by VFW Post 880 in Galveston, Texas, and District 16.

4. <u>2023-2024 TOP TEN Voice of Democracy student winners who are invited to our Mid-Winter Conference Awards Banquet (listed by District sponsors):</u>

Omar A. Reves of Houston, Texas

12th Grade – Sponsored by Post 8790-Houston and District 4

Jayden T. Gonzales of Sinton, Texas

12th Grade – Sponsored by Post 12160-Sinton and District 6

Madeline G. Green of Paris, Texas

12th Grade – Sponsored by Post 3990-Paris and District 12

Piper W. Pruitt of Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas

11th Grade – Sponsored by Post 688 and District 13

Kaiyah Let Delisha King of Harker Heights, Texas

10th Grade – Sponsored by Post 9191-Harker Heights and District 14

Mackenize E. Young of Humble, Texas

12th Grade – Sponsored by Post 4816-Humble and District 17

Kaitlyn R. Barrios of Brownsville, Texas

12th Grade – Sponsored by Post 2035-Brownsville and District 18

Savannah G. Brightwell of Lufkin, Texas

11th Grade – Sponsored by Post 1836-Lufkin and District 19

Blake E. Donaho of China Spring, Texas

11th Grade – Sponsored by Post 2148-China Spring and District 29

Aiden J. Hunter of Ennis, Texas

12th Grade – Sponsored by Post 7106-Ennis and District 30

5. Candidates for Department Office 2024-2025:

State Commander, Robert Martinez, Jr., Post 2059, Kirby, D-20

State Senior Vice Commander, Dave Walden, Post 10427, Leander, D-28

State Junior Vice Commander, Chris B. Davis, Post 5872, D-29

State Junior Vice Commander, Benny Guerrero, Jr., Post 2466, Lubbock, D-9

State Junior Vice Commander, Eddie Terry, Post 10429, Benbrook, D-21

State Quartermaster, Ben Lowrance, Post 1475, Amarillo, D-9

State Chaplain, Michael "Foy" Day, Post 12223, Montgomery, D-17

State Judge Advocate Steve Evans, Post 2466, Lubbock, D-9

State Surgeon, Gerard P. "Jerry" Greene, Post 6796, Dallas, D-3

6. Closing Comments: I look forward to seeing everyone at the upcoming COA in June 2024. Thank you all for the hard work that everyone puts in on behalf of their respective Posts and Districts.

By order of:

Larry Sanders, State Commander

Attested By:

Jorg Kitchen, State Adjutant

